Lipscomb University

Christian Scholars' Conference

Thomas H. Olbricht Christian Scholars’ Conference Advisory Board Statement of Policy



The mission of the Christian Scholars’ Conference (CSC) is to create and nurture an intellectual and Christian community that joins individuals and institutions to stimulate networks of scholarly dialogue and collaboration. The interdisciplinary conference calls together scholars from a wide variety of disciplines in the liberal arts, sciences, business, law, education and medicine to develop their own academic research and to reflect on the integration of scholarship and faith. 

The conference was created in 1981 under the direction of Thomas H. Olbricht, distinguished professor emeritus, Pepperdine University, and has since been hosted by several universities associated with Churches of Christ. In service to its mission, in 2008 the CSC adopted a model wherein Lipscomb University serves as host and every fourth year the conference rotates to a supporting university. 

The CSC Advisory Board is composed of a diverse and distinguished membership, which includes the provosts from the sponsoring institutions and “at-large” members who are noted for their scholarship, as faith leaders, or executives from the professional and academic sectors.



The CSC Advisory Board is composed of a diverse and distinguished membership, which includes the provosts from the sponsoring institutions and “at-large” members who are noted for their scholarship, as faith leaders, or executives from the professional and academic sectors.


Role of Board Members

1. Members serve as ambassadors for the CSC and the scholarship it produces.

2. Members provide wisdom and support to the CSC Director in order to advance the conference. Organizing peer review and generative sessions, soliciting leadership and participation from faculty and other scholars, and casting a vision for the future of the conference are examples of responsibilities. 

3. Members support the mission of the CSC, maintaining its relationship to the Churches of Christ and maintain the highest standards of scholarship.

4. Members commit to making CSC one of their major charitable priorities so that the Board demonstrates personal commitment to the conference’s well-being.

5. Members assist the CSC in developing strong new relationships with individuals, foundations and corporations capable of partnering with or supporting the conference.

6. Members attend the annual conference and board meeting.

7. Members participate actively in task forces dedicated to specific projects.


Benefits to Members

1. Members have the opportunity to help shape one of the leading faith based academic conferences in the world. 

2. Members interact directly with PhD students, faculty, emeritus and other nationally acclaimed scholars in preparation at the annual conference and, on occasion, at other less formal gatherings and events sponsored by the CSC.

3. Members meet and interact with scholars and leaders from a wide range of backgrounds. These interactions may lead to lifelong friendships with outstanding individuals whom members would not otherwise have known.

4. Members stay abreast of major changes and issues that shape the discourse in higher education through plenary addresses and in the plethora of interdisciplinary sessions that often reflect and occasionally impact national and international dialogue. 



1. The CSC Advisory Board consists of the provosts from participating Church of Christ affiliated colleges and universities, including Lipscomb University, Harding University, Oklahoma Christian University, Lubbock Christian University, Abilene Christian University, Pepperdine University, Ohio Valley University and Rochester College. The provosts serve as long as they maintain appointed roles with their college or university. 

2. In addition to these eight members, the board includes five “at-large” members appointed for a five-year term and who may be reappointed for additional five-year terms. 

3. If a given advisory board member has a pattern of absences, or if other difficulties are evident, then the CSC director may call for the removal of that board member, in consultation with at least three other board members, and the president from the director’s institution, or the president’s designated representative.

4. If other Church of Christ colleges or universities request to have CSC Board representation, then that representation should be granted after consultation with the CSC director, assuming that the requesting institution supports the CSC mission. If non-Church of Christ institutions request representation then such requests will be dealt with on an individual basis by the director, the Advisory Board, and the president (the president’s designee) of the director’s home institution.  

5. The CSC director serves on the board as its chairperson. 

6. The president or presidential spouse of Lipscomb University is a member “ex-officio.”

7. The Board has task forces appointed for specific time periods and projects. For example, these include the committee to collect and distribute stipends for PhD students.

8. Members who rotate off of the Board may be designated a member emeritus/a. This status is given in recognition of outstanding service to CSC and offers individuals an opportunity to maintain a tie to the CSC Advisory Board on a more limited basis. Emeriti members have the right to attend Board meetings or to participate in a specific task force.


Revised 10/29/14